Home > FBCH > Sunday AM Remix – 11.20.11

Sunday AM Remix – 11.20.11

November 21, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

‘I Will Fear No Evil’

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. 
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. 
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever. Psalm 23

* REALITY: Fear is a choice! You can choose to walk in faith or stand still in fear.

* QUESTION: Have you had anything in life that just seemed to have you by the throat?

* The Bible says to fear not 365 times.

* Satan uses fear in our life to take us away from the One who calms all fear.

YOU DON’T HAVE TO LIVE IN FEAR BECAUSE THE LORD YOUR SHEPHERD WILL PROVIDE . . .

1.  DIRECTION WHEN YOU’RE CONFUSED.

* Sheep get lost very easily.

* QUESTION: Have you ever had a time that you just felt lost or played the what if game?

“He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”  Psalm 23:3b

* He leads us down the right path.

* Path and Way are used a lot throughout the Bible

* Early Christians were known as people of the way

* There are several paths that you can take but they don’t all lead you to right way!

* QUESTION: What path are you on?

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.”  Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)

“The steps of a good man are led by the Lord. And he is happy in His way.”  Psalm 37:23 (NLT)

“You make known to me the path of life; You will fill me with joy in Your presence, with eternal pleasures at Your right hand.” Psalm 16:11 (NIV)

HOW DO I GET ON THE RIGHT PATH?

 – God’s will is found in GOD’S WORD.

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”  Psalm 119:105 (NKJV)

– God’s will is found in GODLY COUNSEL.

“Fighting comes only from pride, but wisdom is with those who listen when told what they should do.”  Proverbs 13:10 (NLT)

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but he who heeds counsel is wise.”  Proverbs 12:15 (NKJV)

– God’s will is found in GOD’S SPIRIT.

“Work hard to show the results of your salvation, obeying God with deep reverence and fear. For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases Him.”  Philippians 2:12b-13 (NLT)

“Even though Jesus was God’s Son, He learned obedience from the things He suffered.”  Hebrews 5:8 (NLT)

* Just because the path is tough doest mean the path is wrong. Rain, pruning, and pressure are always needed in sanctification process.

* Suffering can be apart of Gods plan.

‘But He knows where I am going.  And when He tests me, I will come out as pure as gold.   For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed His ways and not turned aside.’  Job 23:10-11 (NLT)

* In life, everything that happens is Father filtered. Nothing touches us without the permission of God.

2.  PROTECTION WHEN YOU’RE AFRAID.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me.”  Psalm 23:4a, b (NKJV)

* The valley of the shadow of death is a real place that many feared going through because of the dangers that lurked in the dark narrow passage. But people would go through it because it led to the greenest pastures. Sometimes we have to go through the valley to get to the blessing.

* The first 3 verses talk about The Shepherd, in the last 2 David starts talking to The Shepherd.

“If God is for us, who can ever be against us?”   Romans 8:31b (NLT)

“But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you.  O Israel, the one who formed you says, ‘Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.  I have called you by name; you are mine.  When you go through deep waters, I will be with you.  When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown.  When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you.  For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.’”  Isaiah 43:1-3a (NLT)

* TRUTH: When you are with the shepherd, he provides protection.

3.  CORRECTION WHEN YOU’RE WRONG.

“. . . for Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”  Psalm 23:4c (NKJV)

* INTERESTING FACT: Shepherds carried a rod and a staff.  The Staff was used to guide and direct the sheep, while the rod was used to beat off animals that may attach and used to discipline the sheep.

‘Come, let us return to the Lord.  He has torn us to pieces; now He will heal us.  He has injured us; now He will bandage our wounds.’  Hosea 6:1 (NLT)

“I used to wander off until You disciplined me; but now I closely follow Your word . . . My suffering was good for me, for it taught me to pay attention to Your decrees.”  Psalm 119:67, 71 (NLT)

4.  SATISFACTION WHEN YOU’RE IN NEED.

“You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.”  Psalm 23:5 (NKJV)

* This is a picture of you not lacking anything, God gives us all that we need.

* The table represent a green lush pasture also called a tableland.

* The Oil is representative of the Holy Spirit.  The Bible uses this many times in scripture.

SMALL GROUP DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

1.  Share one experience in your life that caused you to have a lot of fear.  What did you do?  How would you handle that situation differently today?

2.  Read Matthew 14:22-33.  What moved Peter to get out of the boat and onto the water?  What caused Peter to sink after being successful for a while?  How does this passage relate to Psalm 23:4?

3.  Verse 3 says, “He guides me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”  What does this mean?  Check out Proverbs 3:4-5, Ps. 37:23, Ps. 16:11.  What promise does God make through all of these verses?  What do you need divine guidance and direction for in your life right now?

4.  Pastor Bob shared three ways to get on God’s path.  What were they?  Which do you struggle with most?  Why?

5. Pastor Bob spent a lot of time talking about being on the right path and headed in the right way. In Matthew 7:13-14 Jesus talks about a wide and narrow gate and a wide and narrow road. Which path do you tend to travel down the most? What changes need to be made for you to get on and stay on the narrow road going through the narrow gate?

6. What valley’s have you recently walked through?  How has God responded to you through these times? What verses, passages of scripture, and or songs have helped you walk through this valley?

7.  How do the shepherd’s tools the rod and staff ‘comfort’ his sheep?  How has God used these on you?

8.  Verse 5 has three beautiful phrases: ‘You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.’  What do each of these mean to you?  Who are your enemies today?  What would like your cup to overflow with?

MUSICAL WORSHIP SET

You Are Holy – Smith

Jesus Messiah/Enough – Tomlin

How Deep The Father’s Love – Townend

There is A Fountain – Cowper

We hope that you found Sundays Message and following Small Group Questions helpful. If you missed this weeks message, I encourage you to get it here.  While you are there, browse around our website … we think you will like it and find it to be a great tool in inviting friends to FBC Harvester.

As always, I hope you make plans to join us at FBC Harvester next weekend! If distance is a problem, you are always welcome to listen to any of the teachings from our worship service on our website. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us here. We would love the privilege of helping where we can and seeing God do amazing things in our lives together.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

