Home > FBCH > Sunday AM Remix – 11.13.11

Sunday AM Remix – 11.13.11

November 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

 “He Restores My Soul”

* Many of us have been in the trap of worry and frantic living that we think it is normal. But when we look at scripture we see there is a different way to live.

* There is a difference to being driven and being led.

* QUESTION: Are you being driven by life or led by the shepherd?

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. 3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.”

Psalm 23 (NKJV)

* The word Restore means to replenish or bring back to its original form.

5 THINGS THAT CAN DRAIN YOUR SOUL:

  • PEOPLE
  • DIFFICULT PEOPLE

* 2 types of people VIP’s & VDP’s! VIP’s = Very Inspiring People – VDP’s = Very Draining People

  • HURRIEDNESS

* There is a difference between being busy and being hurried. Busyness is an outward condition of the body hurriedness  is an inward condition of the soul.

  • PROBLEMS
  • COVETING

* Always wanting what you don’t have. It is a state of never being content or happy with where you are or what you have.

5 THINGS THAT CAN RESTORE YOUR SOUL:

  • SLEEP

* The Bible says sleep is a gift from God.

* Sleep Patterns are different for every person. It’s important that you find what you need and then make sure you get it.

* God restores you while you sleep.

  • REST

* Sleep and Rest are very different. You can sleep but not be totally rested.

* Rest is found throughout scripture and something we were created in need of.

* Rest is an intentional time of letting the body and mind relax and restore.

  • REFLECTION

* Reflection is time where the soul gazes upon itself.

* If you don’t sleep well or rest well, you will not be able to reflect well

* Here are 4 things that reflection causes you to do

** Looking back – Where have you been, what have you done, what have you said?

** Looking up – What is God Teaching you, Where is He Leading you, Are you following Him?

** Looking around – Who are people influencing you and who are people you influence? Are there things going on that need to change to create a change in you?

** Looking ahead – Where do you see God leading, Where do you see yourself in a couple of years, what are some things you want to achieve, what needs to be done to get there?

*** REALITY: Many times we don’t do this because we are either hurried or tired to think about these 4 things.

  • DIVERSION

* Diversions allow you to do something else to get your mind off of the everyday things.

* Diversions are great until they become our focus.

  • MINISTRY

* If you don’t do the things above, ministry becomes a burden instead of being joyful.

* God uses these things to restore us

SOUL RESTORATION REQUIRES . . .

1.  RESTING IN GOD’S PRESENCE.

“He makes me to lie down. . . “  Psalm 23:2a (NKJV)

* The idea here is that God insist we rest in His Presence.

* Resistance to rest is a dangerous thing. God will make you rest either on your own choosing or His.

* We see in the Creation Story that the first thing God does (REST) is often the last thing that we think we need?

* QUESTION: Are you resting in the Lords presence before you go to work?

‘Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.’  Matthew 11:28-29 (NKJV)

* INTERESTING FACT: When sheep lay down their wool grows the most and their body gets stronger.

* Everyone needs a Sabbath. A Sabbath is a day of rest. God modeled this in creation and it also made it to the big Ten!

‘Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.’  Exodus 20:8 (NKJV)

2.  RELYING ON GOD’S PROVISION.

“He makes me to lie down in green pastures . . . “  Psalm 23:2a,b (NKJV)

“Your words were found, and I ate them, and Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart; for I am called by Your name, O Lord God of hosts.”  Jeremiah 15:16 (NKJV)

“How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!”  Psalm 119:103 (NKJV)

* INTERESTING FACT: Sheep will eat anything, but there are something’s that are bad for them. The shepherd leads the sheep to the green stuff. We are the same way, the Shepherd leads us to green pastures.

“‘I will feed them in good pasture, and their fold shall be on the high mountains of Israel.  There they shall lie down in a good fold and feed in rich pasture on the mountains of Israel.  I will feed My flock, and I will make them lie down,’ says the Lord God.”  Ezekiel 34:14-15 (NKJV)

3.  BEING REFRESHED WITH GOD’S PEACE.

“He leads me beside the still waters.”  Psalm 23:2c

* INTERESTING FACT: Sheep are fearful of fast-moving water. So the shepherd has to lead them to still water.

* Gods word is the green grass for our lives and Gods Spirit is the fresh water we need.

“On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, ‘If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink. He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’ But this He spoke concerning the Spirit, whom those believing in Him would receive; for the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified.”  John 7:37-39 (NKJV)

‘. . . but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.’ John 4:14 (NKJV)

* I need my soul restored when…

** Little things put me over the edge

** When I can’t get to sleep or can’t get up

** When my plate is to full and my heart is to empty

** When dust is gathered on my Bible and I’m not praying about anything

* OPEN CHALLENGE – Spend 3 separate hours with God this week.

SMALL GROUP DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

1.  How busy is your life?  Low, medium, or high?  What consumes most of your time? What consumes most of your thoughts?

2.  Pastor Bob gave five things that can drain our soul: people, difficult people, hurriedness, and coveting.  Describe how each of these can hinder you.  Which one do you struggle with the most?

3. Pastor Bob gave five things that can drain our soul and many of us relate to that list pretty well. But what are the five things that are currently draining your soul?

4.  Pastor Bob gave five things the Lord can use to restore our soul: sleep, rest, reflection, diversion, and ministry.  Describe how each of these can be beneficial to your life.  Which one do you need to spend more time doing?  Why?

5. Why are sleep and rest so needed, so simple to desire, but so hard to actually do? What keeps you from resting? What have you found to help you find the rest you need?

6.  David wrote, ‘He makes me lie down in green pastures.’  Why does a shepherd have to force a sheep to lie down?  How are we like sheep in that way?  In what ways does God force people to lie down in His presence?

7.  Read Matthew 11:28-29.  What is required for Jesus to give us rest for our souls?  Are you doing this regularly?  Why or why not?

8.  Read Exodus 20:8.  How serious of a command is this to God?  How about to you?  What does the Sabbath day mean to you?

9.  Pastor Bob talked about how the ‘green pastures’ for us today is the Word of God.  God wants us to daily feed in His Word.  Are you doing this?  If not, what is hindering you?  What is your favorite way to spend quiet time with God in His Word?

10.   Read John 7:37-39.  What is Jesus talking about?  How does this relate to Psalm 23:2?

11.  How is God wanting to restore your soul this week?

12. Pastor Bob gave a challenge on Sunday to spend 3 separate hours alone with God this week. Have you had a chance to do that yet? What did that time look like?

MUSICAL WORSHIP SET

Come Thou Fount/God Of Glory – Williams

God Is Able – Morgan & Fielding

You Are God Alone – Foote

My Savior My God – Schust

We hope that you found Sundays Message and following Small Group Questions helpful. If you missed this weeks message, I encourage you to get it here.  While you are there, browse around our website … we think you will like it and find it to be a great tool in inviting friends to FBC Harvester.

As always, I hope you make plans to join us at FBC Harvester next weekend! If distance is a problem, you are always welcome to listen to any of the teachings from our worship service on our website. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us here. We would love the privilege of helping where we can and seeing God do amazing things in our lives together.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

