Home > FBCH > Sunday AM Remix – 11.6.11

Sunday AM Remix – 11.6.11

November 7, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

“The LORD is my Shepherd.”

*Many of us live in a constant state of the hurry up, multitasking, sitting on the edge of our seats lifestyle.

*Life doesn’t have to be lived at a High Pace, High Pressure, and  High Stressed Lifestyle.  There is a life that can be lived that is much different that is filled with Peace, Contentment, and Satisfaction.

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.  3 He restores my soul;He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. 
4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil;   For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.  5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil;  My cup runs over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever. ” Psalm 23 (NKJV)

*QUESTION: Where do you find satisfaction, contentment, and peace?

LIKE DAVID, WE CAN BE THRILLED & SATISFIED WITH GOD AS OUR SHEPHERD BECAUSE . . .

1.  HE IS POWERFUL IN HIS NATURE.

*REMINDER: They key to Psalm 23 is not us, but the Lord

“The LORD . . .” Psalm 23:1a (NKJV)

*The Hebrew word used here for the LORD is Yahweh. It is used throughout Scripture in the Holiest, Purest, and most Reverent way when referring to God.

‘Then Moses said to God, “Indeed, when I come to the children of Israel and say to them, “The God of your fathers has sent me to you,” and they say to me, “What is His name?” what shall I say to them?’   And God said to Moses, ‘I AM WHO I AM.’ And He said, ‘Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, “AM has sent me to you.”’ Moreover God said to Moses,‘ thus you shall say to the children of Israel: “The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you. This is My name forever, and this is My memorial to all generations.”’  Exodus 3:13-15 (NKJV)

*TRUTH: The LORD is everything you need. If you need … He is …! Every need you have, He is!

*When we have the right perspective of the LORD our problems seem smaller than we first thought they were.

2.  HE IS PERSONAL WITH HIS CARE.

“The Lord is my shepherd . . .” Psalm 23:1 (NKJV)

*The Lord is not just my friend, He is my Shepherd because He is the one who guides me, protects me, & comforts me.

SHEEP MUST HAVE A SHEPHERD BECAUSE THEY ARE . . .

– PRONE TO WANDER/FOLLOW 

*We do the same thing. Because we are so trusting, we will follow people into the wrong things like …

– VULNERABLE

 *Sheep have to have a protector because they are defenseless, and because they get lost easily. We are the same way. We are defenseless when it comes to the spiritual battle going on around us making us vulnerable to all kinds of temptation.

– STUBBORN

*Many times we are so stubborn that we don’t hear the things that we need to hear.

“All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned, every one, to his own way . . . “Isaiah 53:6 (NKJV)

“I am the Good Shepherd.  The Good Shepherd lays down His life for the sheep.”  John 10:11 (ESV)

*The word “Good” means “one of kind”. Jesus is a “one of a kind” Shepherd.

*QUESTION:Can you say that the LORD really is your shepherd? Test yourself with John 10:27

“My sheep listen to My voice; I know them, and they follow Me.”  John 10:27 (ESV)

* Test

– My sheep listen to my voice – do you hear His voice as the truth goes out? When you read scripture are you hungry for what it says?

– My sheep follow my voice – do you follow His voice?

3.  HE IS PLENTIFUL IN HIS SUPPLY.

“I shall not want . . .“ Psalm 23:1c (NKJV)

“For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless.”  Psalm 84:11 (NIV)

“Fear the Lord, you His godly people, for those who fear Him will have all they need.”  Psalm 34:9 (NLT)

“Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and He will give you everything you need.”  Matthew 6:33 (NLT)

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:19 (NIV)

*NOTE: Philippians 4:19 & Isaiah 53:5  are not wealth and health verses. They are verses that point to Christ ability to take care of all our needs not all our greeds.

“But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; The chastisement for our peace was upon Him, And by His stripes we are healed.”  Isaiah 53:5 (NKJV)

“All we like sheep have gone astray; We have turned, every one, to his own way; And the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.”  Isaiah 53:6 (NKJV)

*THOUGHT: The LORD is my Shepherd, Could this statement/reality, once really comprehended, believed, and lived out could also mean that we get to the point in our life to never want for a different Shepherd?

“For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content.”  1 Timothy 6:7-8 (NKJV)

*TRUTH:There is a difference knowing Psalm 23 and knowing the Shepherd.

*QUESTION: Do you know Psalm 23 or do you know the Shepherd in Psalm 23?

SMALL GROUP DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

1. Where do you tend to find yourself seeking satisfaction, contentment, and/or  peace?  How does this impact your view of God as Shepherd?

2.  When is comes to dealing with worry & stress, what formula were you raised with in dealing with these?  ‘Forget about it’? ‘Pray about it’? ‘Sleep on it’? How would your kids answer this question?

3.  Read Psalm 23.  Now read this Psalm again in the negative (“The Lord is not my shepherd…”).  What verse is most disturbing to you?

4.  David uses the most personal and sacred name for God when he writes ‘The LORD is my shepherd’.  It’s the name Yahweh.  What do you know about this name of God?  Why is David’s use of it here significant?

5.  The bible compares humans to sheep continually.  Why?  What similarities do you see in your life?

6. Satan seems to know the areas we are most vulnerable to temptation and temps us in these areas consistently. What areas have you identified in your life that you seem to be most vulnerable? What are you doing to stay close to the Shepherd enabling you to resist these temptations?

7. We all have stubborn tendencies and our stubbornness can keep us from being obedient to God. What area/s do you need to surrender to the Shepherd?

8.  Read John 10:11 and John 10:27.  How are these encouraging verses for Christians?  What is the proof that Jesus is our Shepherd?  How would you explain this to another person who is seeking to know Jesus?

9.  How do you discern the voice of Jesus from all the other voices that vie for your attention?

10.  How does it make you feel to think of God caring for you as the Good Shepherd?

11.  What did David mean when he wrote, ‘…I shall not want’?  Read Ps. 84:11, 34:9, Matthew 6:33, Philippians 4:19.  What is God promising to His children?  How could this relieve stress and pressure in your life today?

12.  What is the most obvious area of your life God wants you to learn to be content?  Why?  How can your group pray for you today?

MUSICAL WORSHIP SET

Today Is The Day – Brewster

God Is Able – Morgan & Fielding

Revelation Song – Jobe

Jesus Paid It All – Stanfill

We hope that you found Sundays Message and following Small Group Questions helpful. If you missed this weeks message, I encourage you to get it here.  While you are there, browse around our website … we think you will like it and find it to be a great tool in inviting friends to FBC Harvester.

As always, I hope you make plans to join us at FBC Harvester next weekend! If distance is a problem, you are always welcome to listen to any of the teachings from our worship service on our website. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us here. We would love the privilege of helping where we can and seeing God do amazing things in our lives together.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

