Home > FBCH > Sunday AM Remix – 5.29.11

Sunday AM Remix – 5.29.11

What a great day at FBC Harvester. We honored our Veterans, wrapped up a great series on parenting, and I had the privilege to baptize my oldest son!!!! With that being said, this series has been so good for Steph and I an I know its been good for our church. I’ve laughed, I’ve thought, I’ve been encouraged, and I’ve also been convicted. It has caused me to really look at how I am parenting, and I hope it has done the same for you.

Here are my notes from week 5 as we wrap up this series with the topic “Dealing with Discipline.”

PARENT TRAPPED
“Dealing with Discipline”

* The reason kids are out of control at school is because they have too much control at home! – Wow so true!

“Discipline your children while there is hope. Otherwise you will ruin their lives.” Proverbs 19:18 (NLT)

* 2 things to notice from this verse about discipline

1. Start Early while kids are small! – you can always excuse immediate consequences, but you set your child up for failure in the future by doing so.

2. How you discipline your child affects the quality of the rest of their life! – Discipline is like potty training, its miserable going thru it, but it marvelous when its done. Remember The end product is worth the process!!!

Note: notice who’s at fault if your child is undisciplined.

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11(NIV)

WHEN DISCIPLINING YOUR CHILD . . .

1. FOLLOW GOD’S EXAMPLE.

“As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten . . . “ Revelation 3:19 (NKJV)

• For IDENTIFICATION.

“For the Lord disciplines those He loves, and He punishes each one He accepts as his child.” As you endure this divine discipline, remember that God is treating you as His own children. Who ever heard of a child who is never disciplined by its father? If God doesn’t discipline you as He does all of His children, it means that you are illegitimate and are not really His children at all.” Hebrews 12:6-8 (NLT)

* When you discipline your child, you are saying that you belong to me!

• For PREVENTION.

“If I wanted to boast, I would be no fool in doing so, because I would be telling the truth. But I won’t do it, because I don’t want anyone to give me credit beyond what they can see in my life or hear in my message, even though I have received such wonderful revelations from God. So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud.”
2 Corinthians 12:6-7 (NLT
)

* When you discipline, you tell your child that you love them too much to put them in that situation to deal with that temptation.

* This is preventative discipline.

• For EDUCATION.

“I use to wander off until You disciplined me; but now I closely follow Your Word . . . The suffering You sent was good for me, for it taught me to pay attention to Your principles. . . I know, O Lord, that Your decisions are fair; You disciplined me because I needed it.”
Psalm 119:67, 71, 75

* Sometimes we have to be broken down because we have the tendency to run off!

2. BELIEVE GOD’S WORD.

➢ God Says Discipline Will . . .

• Lead To KNOWLEDGE & WISDOM.

“To learn, you must love discipline; it is stupid to hate correction.” Proverbs 12:1 (NLT)

“A wise child accepts a parent’s discipline; a mocker refuses to listen to correction” Proverbs 13:1 (NLT)

* If you never point out whats wrong, how will they ever get it right?

• Save You SOME HEARTACHE.

“To discipline a child produces wisdom, but a mother is disgraced by an undisciplined child.” Proverbs 29:15 (NLT)

• Root Out REBELLION.

“A youngster’s heart is filled with foolishness, but physical discipline will drive it far away.” Proverbs 22:15 (NLT)

“The rod and rebuke give wisdom. . .” Proverbs 29:15a (NKJV)

* God has given a spanking spot for each child! It’s located right at the lower back and just above the legs!

* Spanking is the last option, rebuking always comes first!

• Steers Toward SALVATION.

* Use Discipline to guide them to salvation and the right direction they are supposed to go!

* They need Firm Direction!!!!

“Do not withhold correction from a child, for if you beat him with a rod, he will not die. You shall beat him with a rod, and deliver his soul from hell.” Proverbs 23:13-14 (NKJV)

* Know when to pat high (on back) and when to pat low (on butt)!

3. DELIVER IT GOD’S WAY.

LOVINGLY.

“Man’s anger does not bring the righteous life God desires.” James 1:20

* Discipline is not revenge for action, its goal is always driven by repentance.

*Punishment focuses on the outward action, where discipline focuses on the inward attitude.

* Discipline in calm ways!

FIRMLY.

SPARINGLY.

“Fathers, don’t scold your children so much that they become discouraged and quit trying.” Colossians 3:21 (LB)

It has been a great series.  If you missed today or any other week in this series, I highly encourage you to watch the message on-line by clicking here. Next week we start a new series so make plans now to join us next week at FBC Harvester. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us here!

I hope the Parent Trapped series has been helpful and challenged you to think about the way you parent! My prayer is that all of us would strive to raise our kids in the type of Home they really need. One that will set biblical principles and point them into a relationship with Christ!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

