Home > Bible Challenge > Be Renewed – Colossians 3:10

Be Renewed – Colossians 3:10

Here’s my manuscript from this past Sunday’s teaching in the Adult Service.  I always enjoy my time worshiping in that service and then being able to share from Gods Word!  Praying that we are seeking Him daily as we talked about Sunday! Feel free to re-use it where ever you’d like!

Student Invasion Weekend
BE RENEWED
1.2.11

“Put on the new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him.” Colossians 3:10 (NLT)

Happy New Year!!!  We’ve kinda started a tradition here with me teaching on the 1st Sunday of the New Year! If you were here last year you might remember that as we began our time together I started by sharing a bunch of my failed New Years Resolutions.  Well, to get a jump-start on today, I thought I would share one of my failed Resolutions from last year, are you ready for this? … P90X

Yeah, you all laugh, but I bet I’m not the only one who failed at this one … How many of you got caught up in the media hype and purchased P90X last year?  How many of you actually stayed committed to it?

One of the things that I like about the New Year is the fact that many of us are thinking about life!  We are thinking about habits we want to start and habits that we want to stop.  And if you’re like me, you have made some sort of New Years Resolution.  Today, I want to build on that thought and talk about the two words at the top of your notes!  Look at them with me, the words are “BE RENEWED!”  What does that look like for you in 2011?

In September, we started something in Fusion called the Bible Challenge. The challenge is quiet simple; you read the Bible one chapter a day, 5 days a week. If you miss a day, you have two days to catch up.

Whoever wanted to take the challenge received a tri-fold with the reading plan on it.  I made a personal commitment to blog about each of the daily reading. I did to simply record some of my thoughts and to help encourage others to read the Bible on a consistent basis.

On October 21st we read from Colossian 3. If you look at my Bible, I have most of chapter 3 highlighted.  It’s a chapter that challenges Christians to live in the New Life that’s found only in Christ. And to put to death the old life that is controlled by sin.

I don’t know about you, but there is an intense battle between the old nature and new nature that rages within me over every thought, action, and situation. I’ll be honest, some day’s are better than others! There are days I feel like I am making real advances in becoming Christ like. But then there are other days where I feel as if I just coast by, or simply go thought the motions.

These were the thoughts going through my head as I read that day and then I got to verse 10.  Look at it with me,

“Put on the new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him.” Colossians 3:10 (NLT)

Will you circle the words “BE RENEWED”! If I am real honest, I am at this point in my journey with Christ that I don’t want to just be good enough.  I don’t want to just go through the motions, because I should, or because I have learned its what I am supposed to do as a Christ Follower.

I want everyday to be fresh, new, inspiring, and challenging in the sense that I am learning to be WITH Him.  These two words BE RENEWED, are words that I need to hear today. These are words that I need to experience! And I bet these are words you need to experience also or you wouldn’t be here today!

So lets BE RENEWED by looking at what it take to experience Spiritual Renewal.

SPIRITUAL RENEWAL INVOLVES A …

1. Renewed DEVOTION!

Let me be careful and clear here, Devotion is more than just saying a prayer, walking an isle, or putting an A on your communication card.  Yes, those can be starting points to a relationship with Jesus, and they help Church Leaders know what the Lord is doing in your life, but they are not the end in themselves.

Devotion requires Commitment, Confession, and Change! It’s something that defines Who You Are and What You Become! Jesus says that His followers have to be devoted!

“Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me. 24 If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it. 25 And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but are yourself lost or destroyed? 26 If anyone is ashamed of me and my message, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in his glory and in the glory of the Father and the holy angels.” Luke 9:23-26 (NLT)

This kinda redefines Devotion for us doesn’t it!?! Being a Christ Follower means that you are fully committed to following Christ on a daily basis!

Will you be Devoted to Jesus 100% in 2011?

2. Renewed LOVE!

“But I have this complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first! 5 Look how far you have fallen! Turn back to me and do the works you did at first.”
Revelation 2:4-5 (NLT)

Love is the central word in what Jesus says is the greatest commandment, look what it says,

“Jesus replied, ‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” Matthew 22:37 (NLT)

Somewhere in the mix we have lost sight of this very important statement by Jesus.  You see, Loving God fully, requires commitment, self-discipline, and a giving heart. And let’s be honest, loving others takes time, work, and sometimes resources.  It’s much easier to love ourselves than to love others.

But, when we experience and understand the depth of God’s love, it changes the way we love.  In order to understand the depth of God’s Love, we have to understand the importance of the Cross!

The Cross reveals the Greatest Expression of Love and Devotion. You see without the Cross, we are held responsible for our sin. The Bible says, “that the wages of sin is death.” Because God punishes sin, the Cross was the extreme punishment for sin. The Cross was the place where sin collided with God’s wrath & judgment!

But, because God is a loving God, the Cross is the extreme expression of God’s love!  Jesus took on God’s Wrath and Judgment, when He was crucified on the Cross.  The Cross stands between God’s wrath and God’s love! It reveals both a God that seeks Justice and God that provides Love.  Therefore, it’s through the cross, where we experience the love of God and are able to love Him and others!

Will you fully love Jesus and others in 2011?

3. Renewed IDENTITY!

If I were to ask, “Who are you?” Besides giving me your name, what would you say? Matter a fact, why don’t you write down three words that describe who you are!

If you are like me, your list may have things like this, Husband, if you have that on your list raise your hand! (Wife, for the Ladies), Daddy, raise your hand if you have that on your list! (Mommy, for the Ladies), and Student Pastor, raise your hand if you have that on your list!

I thought I would be the only one! Raise your hand if you put some kind of job related thing down.

See when I look at my list, I have to understand that these things are things that I DO! If I find my Identity in any of these things I’m in a scary place! Why? Because at any moment I could lose anyone of these things! And if my Identity is found in them, I’ve just lost my Identity.

Therefore, my Identity has to be found in something I cannot lose!

When I surrender my life to Christ, He becomes the constant in my life! Because I have done nothing to earn my salvation, I can do nothing to loose it! My Identity is found safe and secure in Him. It’s what’s described in Galatians 2:20,

“My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20 (NLT)

When my identity is found in Christ I have security, even when I experience loss, or messed up circumstances.  My identity changes from What I Do, to Who I Am.

I am a Christ Follower, who loves his wife, loves his boys and tries to be the best daddy in the world, and serves as a Student Pastor.

Will your Identity be found solely in Christ in 2011?

4. Renewed MIND!

The only way we can have a renewed mind is by making sure we are filling it with Gods Word!  This is why we have strongly encouraged you to begin reading the Bible on a daily basis.  By reading His Word we get a deeper understanding of who God is and how we should adjust our lives to His ways!

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2 (NIV)

Will you focus your mind on Godly things in 2011?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

