Home > Bible Challenge > Bible Challenge – 1 Timothy 5

Bible Challenge – 1 Timothy 5

“Elders who do their work well should be respected and paid well,[e] especially those who work hard at both preaching and teaching. 18 For the Scripture says, ‘You must not muzzle an ox to keep it from eating as it treads out the grain.” And in another place, ‘Those who work deserve their pay!'” v. 17-18 (NLT)

I almost didn’t want to write on this passage, because of my role as a pastor!  However, just because I am a pastor doesn’t mean that this doesn’t apply to me as a Christ Follower to the men that have been my friends and pastors.

This past year has been incredible for me as a pastor! People have loved on us in ways that we never expected.  In October, several people from the church sent my wife and I to a spiritual retreat in Costa Rica that was a much needed break for us.  Then in November, students, leaders, and others within our ministry surprised my wife and I with gifts. Steph got a gift card and I recieved an iPad with this passage inscribed on the back:

“As a result of your ministry, they will give glory to God. For your generosity to them and to all believers will prove that you are obedient to the Good News of Christ. 14 And they will pray for you with deep affection because of the overflowing grace God has given to you.” 2 Corinthians 9:13-14 (NLT)

Talk about being surprised, feeling humbled, and appreciated all at the same time, words really can’t explained how blessed we felt.  It was encouraging to know that people cared as deeply for us as we do for them!

Now I said all of that to say this, sometimes being a pastor can be very lonely.  I know, you would think that being a pastor would be easy.  I mean, pastors only work 2 times a week right, Wednesday Nights and Sundays. (I don’t know how many times I have had people ask me what I do for my real Job!!!) sorry got off on a rabbit trail! Because it can be lonely, encouragement goes a long way! Knowing that my family is supported and will be taken care of, helps me focus on doing what the Lord has called me to do, Pastor.

Now I am not saying all this in hopes to get a raise, I say this because we all need to support the leaders that God has placed in our lives!  We can do this in several ways here are just 5 practice ideas:

  1. Let your pastor know you are praying for them!
  2. Send them an encouraging letter!
  3. Take them to lunch!
  4. Give them a gift card so they can take their Wife on a date!
  5. Get involved in the Vision God has given them as leaders of the Church!

These are some ideas that allow you to get involved in practical ways and let your pastor know that they are appreciated in big ways.  This allows them to feel supported and in return allows them the lead the church so it can move forward and advance Gods Kingdom in bigger ways!

You would be surprised how far and an e-mail, text message, Facebook Message, or even phone call just to say thank you and I am praying for you can go!

Today, how can you encourage the leaders in your life.  Will you take time now to let them know how much their ministry means to you?

  1. April 9, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    Great information. Lucky me I ran across your site by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

