Home > Bible Challenge > Bible Challenge – Romans 14

Bible Challenge – Romans 14

November 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

“For we don’t live for ourselves or die for ourselves. 8 If we live, it’s to honor the Lord. And if we die, it’s to honor the Lord. So whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord. 9 Christ died and rose again for this very purpose—to be Lord both of the living and of the dead.” Romans 14:7-9 (NLT)

Let’s face it, it’s easy to major in the minors and minor in the majors.  You may have to read that twice.  It’s easy for me to get caught up in the things that don’t matter as much as the things that do matter. In college I avoided many “conversations” (because Bible Students don’t argue … yea right) that wanted to shift the focus on things that we may never know until the day that Christ Returns. Now please hear what I am not saying, you should know what you believe, and should continue to learn, but not at the expense of what Jesus has called us to be and do.

Remember, our first priority as Christ Followers is to “Love the Lord our God with ALL of our Heart. The second is to “Love others as I love myself.”  When I get caught up in holier than thou “conversations” it’s easy to loose focus of these two things.  Let’s not minor in the majors and miss out on the most important things. Lets focus on living each Day for the Lord, loving the people around us, and when those conversations come up, lets not let them take center stage causing us to forget that in the end, all who have called on the name of the Lord will be saved!

Father help me to love you with all my heart, and to love others the way I love myself.  Help me to stay focused on the things that really matter and not on things that can cause debate. Let me live today with no regret taking advantage of every opportunity you give! I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen!

When you read Romans 14 what speaks to you?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

