Home > Bible Challenge > Bible Challenge – Romans 7

Bible Challenge – Romans 7

November 8, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have discovered this principle of life – that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. Romans 7:21 (NLT)

Have you been here? It’s almost as if Paul was watching my life and talking about himself so I would see the reality of who I really am.  Let’s face it, sometimes its easier to hide behind our good stuff and not deal with the things that are sinful and causing us to stumble.  I have good intentions and desire to be more like Christ and but seem to get tripped up with certain things over and over again.   Thank goodness my relationship with God is not dependent on what I do, but dependent on what Christ has done for me, past present and future. Now, this doesn’t give me an excuse to keep on sinning, but gives me the confidence that when I do mess up, I can seek God, ask for forgiveness, repent of that sin, and have a fresh start.

This also shows me how much I need a Savior. Because I have a sinful nature, I have to remember it is natural for us to sin. This is why the Bible talks so much about the fight that is going on over every thought, action, and re-action you make.  There is a spiritual battle going on that I feel, but may never physically see. When I listen to the Spirit, I am able to fight against these desires more effectively.  This is why it is so important to know God’s Word. When I know God’s Word, I have a better chance of standing my ground when temptation comes my way. It’s not a matter of if temptation comes, it’s a matter of when temptation comes, the real question is, will I be ready?

Father today, let me have a deeper understanding of the work that you are doing in my life. Help me to know you in a deeper way, help me to appreciate what you have done for me in a way that reflects how I live. Let me not take the Cross for-granted. Help me to stay in your Word, so I can know Your Word, and Your Word can change me from the inside out. By doing this, I will be more prepared to stand my ground the next time the enemy tries to tempt in the areas that I seem to fall victim to over and over again. I pray these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen!

When you read Romans 7 what speaks to you?

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

