Home > Bible Challenge > Bible Challenge – Romans 2

Bible Challenge – Romans 2

November 1, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Don’t you see how wonderfully kind, tolerant, and patient God is with you? Does this mean nothing to you? Can’t you see that his kindness is intended to turn you from your sin?” Romans 2:4 (NLT)

“Well then, if you teach others, why don’t you teach yourself? You tell others not to steal, but do you steal?” Romans 2:21 (NLT)

“No wonder the Scriptures say, ‘The Gentiles blaspheme the name of God because of you.” Romans 2:24 (NLT)

Wow, talk about bringing out the big guns!  These three verses kicked my butt today! First, When I think about how sinful I am in my thoughts, attitudes, and actions, it put into perspective how kind, tolerant, and patient God is with me. The sad reality is this, When I choose my sin over Gods Way, I take His kindness, tolerance, and patients for granted.  To be honest, there will be a day when God will no longer be patient and tolerant of sin. On this day, God will judge everything I’ve thought and/or done. This should cause me to live in a way that pleases Him 24/7.

Over the last couple of weeks I have seen how fragile life is. None of us are given a guarantee that we will live to see our next minute.  None of us know the exact time that Jesus will come back and Gods judgment will begin.  But we all have the same opportunity to surrender our way for His Way. One of the thoughts that has been going though my head when temptation tries to get the best of me is this, Would I were to die while I gave into this temptation would God be disappointed? Would I be embarrassed or ashamed of how I spent my dieing moments? Would my dieing moments cause others to question my character or challenge theirs? I want my life to count! I don’t want to be a person that says one thing but does another.  I want to be consistent.  I want what I say and teach to match how I live so that others can’t say, “That’s why I don’t want to be a Christian.”

Father today, help me not take your Grace, Kindness, Tolerance, and Patients for granted.  Let me live each moment as if it were the last.  Let me love big, give big, dream big, talk big, serve big, live big, and lead big. Let my life be an example to many of how Great you are and how much you love us!

When you read Romans 2 what speaks to you?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

