Home > Bible Challenge > Bible Challenge – Philippians 4

Bible Challenge – Philippians 4

October 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Don’t worry about anything, instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

Confession, I worry much, and pray little.  For some reason, of all the spiritual disciplines, prayer seems to be the most difficult for me.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I pray, just not as much as I’d like too.  However, when it comes to worry, I can do that without even thinking about it.  Sometimes even my worries have worries.  I’ve had sleepless nights where my mind is racing with thoughts that I cant get rest I need.  I’ve had days where I’ve tried to work faster, longer, and harder to make something happen, as if to eliminate a worry.  Sometimes, these things have worked … but many times they haven’t. But when I pray, something different happens!

Sometimes, prayer is a hard concept to understand until you experience it for yourself. Two years ago, it seemed my life was flipped upside down. Our youngest son was having seizures and spending time in the hospital, there was pressure at church, our finances were a rec because of medical bills, and to top it off, I found out that I had high blood pressure. (wonder why) It was in this time that I realized something had to change or I was going to worry myself to death.  I remember praying and asking God, “Why?”, “Why is this happening?”, “What is going on?”, “Why, did you move us here away from all of our friends to go though something like this alone?”

You name it I asked it! It caused me to pray, not just pretty, feel, good, Sunday school prayers.  It caused me to pray as if my life depended on it! In this time I was also reading His Word searching for guidance, encouragement, and answers.  The more I prayed, the more peace I felt, the more I read, the more confidence I gained.  Through this process God was doing something on the inside of me that was radical to the things He had done in the past.  My worry was decreasing and worship was increasing. I understood that in the midst of chaos, God still had control and He was refining me in the process.

Today,  because I have experienced the power, peace, and the presence of God that comes from prayer, I understand how vitally important prayer and time spent alone with Him is. Now, my desire is to spend more time with God by praying and reading.  I’m learning to talk with God about the little things and not just the big things and it’s changing my life, one prayer at a time.

Father, thank you for all you have done! Your presence, power, and peace can’t be described in words, but must be experienced. Help me not to try to control situations, but to pray about EVERYTHING knowing that you are in control.  Let me pray with urgency, because my life truly does depend on it! In, Jesus Name I pray, Amen!

When you read Philippians 4 what speaks to you?


  1. October 19, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Thanks, Dan. I worry too much, too. I even worry that I worry too much. I like the NIV reading, “present your requests to God”. If I make it a present – a gift – I shouldn’t ask for it back, but I often do. I’m working on trusting more and leaving things in God’s hands more.
    Enjoyed your post. Philippians is my favorite book and one that I’ve benefited greatly from. I’ve shared some of what I’ve learned there in my own book, Journey to Joy. If interested, check it out at http://amzn.com/144218776X

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

