Home > Bible Challenge > Bible Challenge – Ephesians 5

Bible Challenge – Ephesians 5

October 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Imitate God, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. Live a life filled with love. following the example of Christ. Ephesians 5:1-2

Have you ever tried to be like someone else?  Have you ever watched to see what someone else did first? Have you ever changed your answer based on what others thought.  Have you ever  …. ? If you’re like me the answer is YES! Fortunately for me I have had some great mentors in my life who have shown me what it means to imitate God in everything. Their love for God and desire to be like Jesus challenged me in so many ways. As a teenager, their example was so different than what I was seeing or had seen  at school and sadly at church. As I look back on it now I am so thankful for their consistent and authentic pursuit of becoming more like Christ daily. I don’t know I would be where I am today without their example.

Fast forward several years! There has never been a more important time in my life than now for me to be an imitator of God.  Having a family, working with Teenagers & Adults, coaching my sons baseball team, and living in what seems to be a glass house, are all areas that God has placed me to live and lead by example.  Everyday I have a choice to imitate someone or something.  Some-days I feel like I fail big, while others days I feel like I’m a little more successful. But the desire of my heart is to imitate God in everything.  That means giving God credit where credit is do, and confessing the things that are not pleasing to Him.  It means living authentically and pursuing Christ daily so that the next generation, will look at my example in the same way I look at some of the great examples in my life! It’s time to pass the baton, they have passed it to me, and now it’s my responsibility to pass it to the next generation!

Father, today I want to imitate you in everything!  I pray that I would surrender the thing things that keep me from you, exposing them to your light so the dark places in me could become victories you use to bring Glory to your Name.  I pray that my example, will cause others to chase after you daily I pursue to live authentically, confessing my failures and celebrating the victories. It’s in Jesus Name I pray, Amen!

When you read Ephesians 5 what speaks to you?

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

