Home > Leadership > Life in 140 Characters or Less

Life in 140 Characters or Less

It’s been awhile since my last post! It’s seems I go through times of inspiration and desperation when it comes to writing something new that reflects my heart, challenges my walk with Christ, and may inspire others to take a step of faith. With technology spreading as it has, I have faithfully jumped on board the social media bandwagon.

If you were a faithful reader of this blog, I’d first like to say thank you, and I’d like to encourage you to follow me on twitter @dgould77. I’ll be honest, I couldn’t stand twitter when it first came out. I didn’t understand it’s potential and I didn’t think anyone would actually care to follow my post. I was wrong!

Over the last year I’ve committed to tweeting daily 3-5 times a day. I am trying to be cautious and not over tweet, however, if I’m at a conference, camp, or special family outing an occasional over tweet may happen. But here is how I leverage my tweets and what you can expect from me when you follow.

1. Scripture – I work hard to stay in the Word (read the Bible) on a daily basis. Yes, it takes work and commitment, even for me! Everyday I tweet a verse from my daily reading. I typically tweet this before 8:00AM. The verses I share inspire/challenge/convict/encourage me and i hope they will do the same for you.

2. Inspiration – I try to be a reader. Because we all know that “readers are leaders”! But i have a confession, I hate reading! My son said it best last year when he said, “Dad, Did you know before they had fun, they just had reading?” In-spite of this, I try to post either a quote from something I am reading, singing, listening to, or watching, a link to something I’ve heard or seen, or a thought that God is stirring within me. I am trying to do this in the afternoons on a daily basis.

3. Family Life – Well, you never know what’s going to happen next, that’s for sure! This has been a great resource when it comes to keeping people updated with Jackson and being able to have people pray in the blink of a tweet. But I also try to tweet the everyday, funny, normal and not so normal things that happen within our family. There is nothing special about us, but it allows you to see me in real life, not just as a Student Pastor.

4. Student Ministry Stuff – Because this is what God has called me to, it’s natural for me to talk about Student Ministry things. This has become a great platform for me to get the word out about events, topics, resources, and other information that our students, parents, volunteers, and even other Student Pastors can find helpful.

I hope you will begin to follow me on twitter @dgould77 and join me in this journey called life and living From the Inside Out!

  1. JMac
    July 30, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Dan: Hope you guys are doing will. I’ve always loved your blog and follow you on Twitter as well. Both of them add alot to my spiritual walk and learning.

    I’ve also become a BIG reader here in Florida. And once I started, good books seem to come out of the woodwork at me. A couple of recommendations for you:

    Plan B, by Pete Wilson
    In the Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day, by Mark Batterson
    The Real Deal Workbook (not so much a book as a workbook, but it was amazing for me!) by Dan Webster

    Keep writing and tweeting! Janet Maccubbin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

