Home > Bible Challenge > Mark 1:35-38

Mark 1:35-38

January 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Before daybreak the next morning, Jesus got up and went out to an isolated place to pray.”        v.35 (NLT)

If you are like me, you are probably a busy person.  I don’t know how many times I have said and heard people say, “I was going too spend time with God, but I got too busy.”  Really, did we really get too busy, or was spending time with God not as important as something else that got our attention?  I’ll never forget what my youth pastor said to me when I was 18, he simply looked at me after I had given some excuse as to why I hadn’t been faithfully spending time alone with God and said this,

“If you are too busy for God, you are too busy!”

OUCH!  That statement has echoed in my life ever-since he said it.  God has used it many times to remind me of whats really important.  In the midst of doing ministry, Jesus understood the importance of spending time with God through prayer.  He understood that the strength, wisdom, and the refuge his soul needed was found in the time that he disengaged from the world and connected with the Father.    The same is true for you and me.  When I spend time alone with God, it allows me to gain wisdom, strength , and refuge.  It has become a very important part of my life.  To be honest, it was hard to start, but now, I can’t imagine trying to go though life without that time with God.

Today, will you pause and connect with God in a real way (more than at meals).  Will you make a commitment to prioritizing a regular time with God Daily.  I promise, it will make a difference!

Prayer: Father, my desire is to be the person you have created me to BE so I can do the things you have created me to DO.  Help me to not reverse that.  It’s easy to get so busy, even busy doing the things you have called me to do, that I put you on hold and don’t spend time with you.  I know the benefits I have received from our time together.  I am thankful for those times and look forward to that time so often because of the wisdom you impart, the strength that you give and the refuge of peace that you provide.  Help me be an example of your love, so others will see you by the things that I do!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

