Home > Bible Challenge > Mark 1:21-28

Mark 1:21-28

January 25, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Jesus and his companions went to the town of Capernaum. When the Sabbath day came, he went into the synagogue and began to teach. 22 The people were amazed at his teaching, for he taught with real authority—quite unlike the teachers of religious law.” v.21-22 (NLT)

When was the last time you were amazed by Jesus?  Was it yesterday, last week, last month, last year?

Last week I had the privilege of going to Mexico to serve with some men from Grace, North Texas, and the KC area through an organization called HERO Makers. It was an amazing week because we drew close to Jesus every morning with worship through music, the reading of His Word, and Prayer. These three things allowed us to focus on Jesus and be used by Him.

As the week began, I was challenged with this passage and the use of one word, “amazed.”  The people responded with amazement by Jesus and were amazed by the things He said and did.  It caused me to ask myself this one question, “When was the last time I was amazed by Jesus?” Was it recently, was it tied to an event or circumstance?  As i thought about these things questions started flowing, and personal evaluation started to happen because I want to be amazed by Jesus.

So, here is what I am learning: Everyday I have the opportunity to be amazed by Jesus!  However, I have to:

  • Be where Jesus is – how I start may day is important.  What I focus on first will tend to guide my day.  When I spend time with Jesus, I begin to see through His eyes.  I begin to see the world differently and I begin to see opportunities to be used by Him.
  • Surrender all that I am for all that He is – The reality is that we either come to God with Open hands, representing a life that is open and surrendered to Him, or we come with closed fisted hands, representing a life the is closed off from God and not completely surrendered to Him.  Coming to Jesus with open hands can be difficult depending on the situation.  But I have learned and continue to learn that when I do this, God amazes me by His power, grace, peace, and provision.  Sometimes I don’t experience this because I don’t completely surrender everything to Him.
  • Step out in Faith – Doing something for the first time is sometimes difficult.  As believers, when God calls us to do something new, we think of all the reasons why we can’t do it instead of focusing on the one thing that’s important, “God called us to do it.”  Whenever God calls us to do something, we may not think we can do it.  There may even be others that think we can’t do it.  But that’s were we get the opportunity to be amazed by God.  When Jesus picked his Disciples, he didn’t go to the religious elite, he went to the religious rejects.  He went to those that others thought couldn’t or wouldn’t be used by God.  Remember, “God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called!”
  • Thank God Continually – God has done so much for us.  When I look at what Christ has done on my behalf, I am amazed that He would love me that much.  Remembering this, and thanking God for all that He has done, keeps me humble and grateful.  To be honest, everything good in my life comes from Him!  When we acknowledge Him, it puts our life in perspective and allows us to reflect and remember all that He has done for us.

I think these four things help us to be amazed by Jesus.  So here is the question …

Today, will you allow yourself to be amazed by Him?

Prayer: Father, thank you for all that you have done and continue to do for us. I want to be amazed by you, today, tomorrow and everyday after that! Help me to put myself where Jesus is, surrender all that I am for all that you are, step out in faith when fear wants to keep me trapped, and to continually thank you for all that you have done and continue to do.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

