Home > Bible Challenge > Stirring – Accountability

Stirring – Accountability

December 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

“As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.” Proverbs 27:17 (NLT)

When I was 18 this verse was grained in me by my Youth Pastor. He modeled and taught me how important accountability is.  When we look at this verse, it sounds simple!  We all want and have friends.  But this verse goes deeper than just a simple Friendship.  For iron to be sharpened it has to have some kind of friction that make it sharper.  For you to be the person God has created you to be, and then to do the things he is calling you to do, you need to have people in your life that can and will hold you accountable.  These are people you trust. People that love you unconditionally.  These are people you give permission to ask you the hard questions.  You need people that create Godly friction in your life so you will become more like Christ.

The fact is, we need these people in our life.  Our relationship with Jesus is a personal one, but it’s not intended to be a private one. We need people to help us see the things we don’t see.  We need people to help us own the things that we want to hide.  We need people to hold us up, when we are fighting sin and feel weak. We need people to encourage us with words of life!

I have been blessed with some great men of God that have held me accountable.  I am in a group right now that is holding me accountable to these 10 things:

  • Have I spent daily time in the Scriptures and in Prayer?
  • Have I had any flirtatious or lustful attitudes, tempting thoughts, or exposed myself to any explicit materials which would not glorify God?
  • Have I been completely above reproach in my financial dealings?
  • Have I spent quality relational time with family and friends?
  • Have I done my 100% best in my job?
  • Have I told any half truths or outright lies, putting myself in a better light to those around me?
  • Have I shared the Gospel with an unbeliever this week?
  • Have I taken care of my body through daily physical exercise and proper eating/sleeping habits?
  • Have I allowed any person or circumstances to rob my joy?
  • Have I lied on any of these answers today?

Accountability is risky! It makes you vulnerable!  But it doesn’t work unless you are truthful and ask for it.  I can tell you several stories of people, men and women, who have fallen because of a lack of accountability.  Some of these people even had great, Godly people in their lives, but they didn’t allow anyone to love them, ask the hard questions, and help them become the person God created them to be. But I can also tell you stories of victory.  Where someone seeks accountability and God changes that person from the inside out and goes on to use them in great ways.

Here is the point, God is more concerned with Who you Are, than what You Do!  Many times we forget this and miss the most important things in being a Christ Follower . . . becoming like Christ ourselves.  We need each other and together we can be the people God has created us to be.

“Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. 10 If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble.”
Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 (NLT)

Today, will you be a person that tries to do this on your own, or will you invite others in so you can be the person God has created you to be?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

