Home > Bible Challenge > Stirring – Surrender

Stirring – Surrender

November 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

“He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.”John 3:30 (NLT)

It’s not about me! It never has been about me and it never will be about me.

I have to be honest, this is something that is easy for me to read, and even say, but in the depths of my heart, I am still very selfish! It’s easy for me to say, “It wasn’t me!” or “It wasn’t my fault!” when things go bad, but when things go good, something changes.  All of a sudden I want the recognition, the praise, the hi fives, and what ever-else you want to give me … I want it all.

But this word surrender is so deep, honestly way to deep to write about in a blog, but if God is stirring on the inside of me, there has to be an act of surrender that happens also, and it has to happen in these 4 areas for sure:

  • A SURRENDERED HEART!

This is the first step.  Without a surrendered heart you will remain focused on yourself and miss out on the things that have Eternal value.  If you have never trusted Jesus as Lord and Savior, you have never really surrendered your heart.  A surrendered heart breaks for the things that break the heart of God, and stirs within us the desire to be transformed and used by God for His Kingdom.

  • A SURRENDERED WILL!

This is the outward expression of a surrendered heart.  This is where our actions meet up with our beliefs and our words.  I believe this is what James is going after when he says,

“But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.” James 1:22 (NLT)

Jesus knew this well also.  We see this in the garden when he is talking with God asking if there is any other way to redeem man from sin.  Look at what he prays,

“Father, if you are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.” Luke 22:42 (NLT)

A surrendered will is where follow-through happens.  It’s what allows others to see Christ in us.

  • A SURRENDERED PLAN!

It’s easy for us to claim this verse in Jeremiah,

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ says the Lord. ‘They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”’ Jeremiah 29:11 (NLT)

We like this verse because it makes us feel good to know that we have a purpose.  But it says that God knows the plan for us … what if His plan is different than the plan we thought it would be?  What if his plan is different than the plan we have seen in some of our mentors? This is where I have to remember, that God made me to be me, not a carbon copy of someone else.  Therefore, God’s plan for me may be different than the plan He has for someone else.

Please don’t hear what I am not saying, I feel many times we do something, believe something, and act a certain way based on what we have seen and learned from someone else.  We look at what God is doing in them, how he is using them, and think to ourselves, I have to believe, say, or do, this or that, to have God use me effectively. Don’t get me wrong,  you need Mentors and Godly role models, but remember, God uses these people to help point you to what HE wants to do in you, and through you, not for you to be a mini me of them.  God’s plan may be radically different than the plan that he has/had for the influences in your life. This doesn’t mean that there is a conflict or contradiction. It simply means that God has used someone to influence and encourage you to be who God created you to be and now its time to step up and surrender to the plan God has for YOU!  God may be doing something different in you, don’t be afraid of that, but seek the Lord in that.  Remember what He says in Isaiah,

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?” Isaiah 43:19 (NLT)

  • A SURRENDERED LIFE!

This is the ultimate goal, that every aspect of our life is surrendered to God.  I believe we live out Romans 12 1-2 when we surrender to these 4 areas.  Let this be our goal today,

“And so, dear brothers and sisters,[a] I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.[b] 2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.” Romans 12:1-2 (NLT)

Today, who will you surrender to?  The fact is you will surrender to something or someone.  For me, I am working on these 4 things, will you join me?

  1. November 25, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Nice blog. Surrendering our wills to His is what following Christ is all about. The call to discipleship has only changed from our perspective. Jesus is still expecting from us what He expected from those fishermen in Galilee.

    Have a great Thanksgiving.

  2. Rick
    November 26, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Great post. God has been teaching me a lot in this area the last few months. He’s been trying to get through to me to wait on Him, accept His sovereignty, accept His plan instead of my own. My plans still get in the way and I always feel that I have to act on them instantly (lack of patience). I’m still learning here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

