Home > Bible Challenge > Stirring – Hearing

Stirring – Hearing

November 24, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Be still, and know that I am God!
I will be honored by every nation.
I will be honored throughout the world.”

Psalm 46:10 (NLT)

Let’s face it, life is busy.  But I will never forget the words my Youth Pastor told me when I was 18 and giving him the excuse that I was too busy to read my Bible and spend time with God.  He simply looked me in the eye and said, “If you are too busy for God then you are too busy.” Ouch, I’ll never forget that statement.

Let’s be honest, it’s not that we are to busy, it’s simply we haven’t made that time with God a priority.  I still find this a challenge today.  The older I get the more demands on my time I seem to have.  If I don’t prioritize my time with God, sadly it will be overlooked.  But that’s true for you also.

Here is the Bottom Line, if we are going to get to know God, be transformed by His love, and impact others for His kingdom, we are going to have to begin to prioritize time with Him to listen, pray, and meditate on Him.

Here is what it looks like for me in the morning, a cup of coffee (i am getting older), my Bible with 2 highlighters, my laptop and headphones for music.  This has been my routine for sometime now.  It has become a priority and a habit.  However,  it doesn’t stop in the morning.  All day long I listen for God’s voice.  Sometimes it’s loud and obvious and other times it’s a whisper.  But I am learning to listen with my heart, ears and eyes.  I have come to the understanding that God is speaking, but sadly, many times I don’t hear Him because I’m not really listening.

If God is going to use us as an influence, we have to learn to be still so we can hear Him.  We have to prioritize this time with God because if we don’t, our time will be taken by other things.  These could even be good things, but our time with God is where we get strength, clarity, and confidence.  Jesus knew this well! Many times he left crowds and sent disciples ahead so he could spend time with God.  He knew His time was short, He was busy and always had a crowd, but He knew His greatest impact would only come out of his time of fellowship with God.

We see this in a big way in his last hours. Jesus could have spent time with others, He could have held a healing service, or taught large groups of people.  But in His last hours as a free man, Jesus spent time with God praying and listening.

Then Jesus went with them to the olive grove called Gethsemane, and he said, “Sit here while I go over there to pray.” Matthew 26:36 (NLT)

You see God was preparing Him for his greatest impact, his greatest rejection, and his greatest beating which ultimately lead to His greatest act of kindness and greatest miracle … His Death and Resurrection.

Jesus knew how important it was to spend time with God!  He knew that without this time his impact and influence could be jeopardized.  He knew how to listen with his ears, eyes, and heart and set an example for us to follow. The question is, do we hear God when He is trying to speak to us?  Have we prioritized our time with Him so we can hear and recognize His voice when He speaks? Do we really believe that it makes a difference?

Today, let’s ask God to give us ears to hear, eyes to see, and a heart that is open and soft for the things He wants to say.

  1. November 24, 2009 at 9:40 am

    great post and reminder

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

