Home > Leadership > Twitter & FaceBook have wounded my blog, and life is busy!!!

Twitter & FaceBook have wounded my blog, and life is busy!!!

I must admit that I haven’t been posting many blogs lately other than some devotionals or thoughts on American Idol.  There have been a couple of reasons for this.

1.) Life has become so busy – In March Stephanie switched jobs and moved from working the front desk at Grace to working at Grace Christian Preschool at the church.  She made the switch for a couple of reasons, the big one was to allow me to be in the office more, which  you would think would make work easier . . . but it hasn’t.  It seems that there is always more to do.  However, I have enjoyed the time to have random lunches with staff, students, and other leaders form area churches.

2.) Twitter and FaceBook – I must admit, I was a little hesitant in getting twitter.  At first, I thought it was unrealistic to let people know every time i was going to the boys room.  But, twitter has become so much more than what I expected.  I am not the best at it, but now I find myself checking twitter more than reading blogs.  Here is why:

  • It’s short and to the point.
  • I can see several people from one page.
  • It interfaces with FaceBook.
  • I get more dialogue through Twitter and FaceBook than my blog

These four things have caused me to blog less and twit more. Yes it is cool  to see my loyal blog readership increase, but this new concept of micro blogging has really become addicting,  In fact, I have had way more interaction with people that follow my twitter or are friends on FaceBook, than I did having dialogue with people on the blog.

So with this being said, I want to encourage you with this, if you don’t know what Twitter is, click this link to see my profile http://twitter.com/dgould77 – If you have FaceBook and can txt from your phone, think again about joining twitter, you would probably really enjoy it.

3.) Apathy – I’ll admit it, I have become apathetic in writing new things.  I have several idea’s for new post but just lack the drive to sit down and type the details.  Please keep in mind that I don’t know how to type! (yes, I still hunt and peck, but I sure have become fast at it over the years.)  It’s hard to justify coming home late and then telling the world about my day at the expense of spending time with my family.  Not perfect, but it is really something close to my heart, and something I have been trying to work on.

So, I said all of that just to say this . . . I will continue to blog, but for the fastest or most up-to-date info on whats going on in the Gould household, follow me on Twitter or catch me on FaceBook.  It’s much easier for me to post a thought, pic, or statement from my phone in 140 characters or less than to get the laptop out to write a new post at the end of the day!

  1. May 25, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I’ve made some great connections through Twitter and yes… it’s so addicting!! 🙂 You have a great blog and I hope you keep it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

