Home > Family, Health, Prayer > Jackson Update

Jackson Update

Well the blog has been quiet for the last couple of days due to Jackson having another seizure.  This one was scary in the sense that he stopped breathing and started changing colors.  Because of this, we called 911 and the ambulance arrived 5 minutes later.  This was much different from the 20 minute wait we had the last time we called 911 in November.  They loaded Jackson up for the Hospital and after a short stay at Centennials ER, we were released with a prescription for Bronchitis and instructions to control his fever.

However, I have to say that we were really disappointed with the nurse that we had.  This was the second time we have had her and both times we feel like we get poor care.  Not that we are needy, but come on, at least a smile and show some friendliness.  This  isn’t to much to ask for is it?  Or, how about turning off our beeping monitor.  I don’t understand why they have it hooked up if when it goes off no-one even seems to check it!   I know they heard it, we were right outside the nurses station.  Anyhow, sorry for the rant, it only got worse later.

We were released at 1:00 am on Friday morning with no new answers.  I had to ask the nurse to take his temperature before we left because Stephanie and I both thought Jackson felt warm.   His temperature was normal and she said we could offset giving him Tylenol and Motrin  every 2 hours.  So we gave him a dose of Tylenol in the car on the way home.

When we got home his fever had gone back up to 101.4.  We knew we were in the danger zone but could only wait it out until we could give him a dose of Motrin at 2:45ish.  Well, we didn’t make it that far.  Jackson had another seizure exactly like the first one that evening.  This time we didn’t call 911.  We waited out the seizure and I called Centennial to tell them what had just happen.  As I was telling the lady on the phone I asked if we should come back in and she told me that she can’t make that decision for us or recommend that either. Basically she couldn’t give us any advice.   She informed me that the doctor we had seen had already gone hoe for the night, and if we chose to come back in the new doctor would have to reevaluate him.  I was shocked, mad, and disappointed that this is all the help they would offer.

So,we choose to stay home and watch Jackson like a hawk.  In a short time we got his fever under control and then tried to get as much sleep as we could.  Later Friday morning Jackson saw our Neurologist who has now given us liquid Valium to give him if he starts getting a fever.  Everything seemed to be going  good, until this morning.

As I was teaching during our MS Service, Jackson’s pager went off.  Stephanie ran from the Student Center to Son City all to find that Jackson had a little fever.  As a dad, I was stuck.  I didn’t know what was going on with Jackson, and was in the middle of the talk.  Needless to say my heart went to my stomach immediately.  We stopped what we were doing, payed for Jackson and tried to continue with the lesson.  I figured if it was serious someone would be coming soon to get me.  About 5 minutes later I got a thumbs up from one of our volunteers who had gone down to check on the situation while I was teaching.  Thankfully it was not an emergency!  But definitely a day and weekend I will never forget.

I personally want to thank all the people that have loved on us, encouraged us, and prayer for us.  We are so blessed to have each of you in our life and thank God daily for you.  Every time we look at Jackson, we see the power of prayer, and we are reminded of how much people care and are willing to invest in out little family.  So with that, I say thank you!!!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

