Home > Dan Gould, Family > What a Day – Family Fun, Cussing, and a Seizure

What a Day – Family Fun, Cussing, and a Seizure

January 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday started as any normal Friday does, everyone sleeping in a little, before the day get off to a start.  Stephanie had the pleasure of having lunch with Kristy who has been a huge encouragement and blessing to our family, while I had the pleasure of hanging out with the boys at Chick-fil-A FOREVER.  No it wasn’t that bad.  The boys had so much fun!

From there we went to visit one of our students in the hospital.  If you will join us in praying for Brittany Stene, that would be awesome.  Brittany for the last year has been battling cancer and now has to battle a blood clot in/near her heart.  Praying with and hearing their story made Jackson seem very healthy.  Just reemphasizes that everyday is a gift from God, and one that should be cherished, enjoyed, and put to good use making the most of the opportunities presented.  I don’t know all that is in store for Brittany, but i do know that God is growing her faith and using her to grow the faith of her mother as well.

Since we were in North Dallas, we decided to make our 2nd visit to North-park Mall.  This time was much different than the first visit in the fact that you could park, and walk through the mall peacefully.  We ate at PF Changs which has become one of our families favorite restaurant.  The boys love the chicken fried rice.  As we walked the mall, we did hit up some stores.  I found a good deal on some sweat pants that I wanted to try on before I bought them.  I take Josiah to the dressing room with me and as we are talking I am trying on the sweat pants, without missing a beat Josiah looks at my sweat pants and says, “Dad, you can’t buy those they are to f****** long!” . . . . . . . . yeah, that’s what I did also.  I thought maybe I had not heard him correctly so I asked him to repeat what he said!  Yep, he said exactly what I thought he said.  I know what you’re thinking, Yes, I am a pastor, and yes, he is a pastors kid.  I told him that’s a bad word and we don’t talk like that.  I tried to get him to tell me where he heard that but he couldn’t answer.  So, we are in the process of evaluating how and where he could be picking up language like this!

Once we got home, we put the boys down for bed and then Jackson decided to have a seizure.  This is the first time that I felt like I knew what to do.  Jackson’s seizure only lasted for 3-4 minutes, it’s still 3-4 minutes to long.  After his seizure was over we took him to the ER at Centennial where he had another smaller seizure as we were walking in.  The doctors were great.  They put him on oxygen and gave him some Valium.  After 3 hours we were able to go home.  We don’t know what the nexts steps are.  Jackson has had a seizure every month at the first of the month now the last three months.  We thought we were one the up and up, but I guess we now have more questions that still need to be answered.  The Good news, Jackson is back to his normal self and already getting in to things he is not supposed to.  Please continue to pray for us as we continue the journey of finding out why he is having repeated seizures and/or get his medication under control!

  1. Kristy
    January 10, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Okay, I am so glad Jackson is doing better and back to normal. He is so busy, but I love it when he is so busy because I know he is feeling good. Hunter is sitting here saying “he is SOOOO cute” and she is right!

    So, on a less serious note, I am laughing out loud about Joe and seriously (and I mean seriously) hoping he didn’t hear that word from this house! But, maybe someone here got into the lemonade and let something slip! LOL

  2. Rick
    January 10, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    We’ll be praying for you guys. I know the other night at the basketball game you mentioned how well he’d been doing, but we were still at the first of the month.

    Now, for Josiah. What are you teaching that boy?!? I’m LOL like Kristy. I’m sorry my laughter is at your expense.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

