Home > Uncategorized > WordPress.org vs WordPress.com

WordPress.org vs WordPress.com

November 28, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have been thinking about switching to a wordpress.org account so I could have more freedom with my blog.  However, I like the fact that wordpress.com is free even though it is limited. So here is my real question, is it better to pay for the custom css on wordpress.com or to transfer over to a web host with a new domain and use wordpress.org and pay a monthly fee?  Help wanted . . . any suggestions?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. Rick Caskey
    November 29, 2008 at 11:27 am

    I guess I’m your one vote so far. For me it comes down to time to deal with it. I’ve thought about trying to change over to wordpress.org and try to setup my own web server, not use a hosted one. But, every time I think about it, I think about the time it would take. The hosted option would be less time consuming, but then for me, the difference between .org or .com don’t warrant the cost. My opinion.

  2. November 29, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    dan…i’ve found that there seems to be a lot more flexibility with making your blog you own. both are useful and truthfully i started on .com and then moved to .org. there’s a lot of good deals out there for webhosting. personally i use blue host. here’s a nice little comparison to work through…hope its helpful… http://tinyurl.com/692yun

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

