Home > Church Stuff > Pastor Appreciation Month

Pastor Appreciation Month

October 20, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

October is deemed Pastor Appreciation Month.  It’s supposed to be a time where you love on your pastor/s and let them know how much you appreciate them.  I have had some great pastors in my life and I just want to take the time here to thank them for their investment in me.

  • My Grandfather – He will never be able to read this because he is with Jesus.  But growing up as a kid, he was the person I talked to about God.  When I was eight years old it was him that prayed with me when I asked Jesus to be my Savior.  Now, I still have a collection of books that were meaningful to him and that he poured his life into.  When I read them and see his markings it still speaks to me today.
  • Richard Eakins – This was my first Pastor.  I grew up under his teachings, was baptized by him at Boulevard Baptist Church, and then served on staff with him at First Baptist Church in Nixa, MO as an intern and then part time student pastor.  I learned a lot from him, and appreciate him more now than I probably did then.  He knows the Bible so well, and cared for people.
  • Mike Frazee – God used this man in a time that I was searching!  I was a senior in High School, my grandfather had just past away, and I had questions about God, Heaven, and me.  He was my first and only Student Pastor.  I grew up going to church without a Student Pastor.  He taught me that being a Christian wasn’t something I did on Sunday, but was something that was taking place on the inside of me everyday.  He took the time to Disciple me, and then asked me to volunteer with a MS Boys Sunday School class.  I think he was desperate!  But God started working on my heart and used that situation and Mikes dedication to lead me to the place I am today, sharing the love of Christ with Teenagers.
  • Doug Fields – I have had the privilege to get to know Doug a little more over the last couple of years by participating in the PDYM Community.  His books have been an inspiration to me and a resource I come back to more times than not.  I love his heart for coaching, and really simply linking arms with other youth workers for the sake of building the Kingdom.
  • Bob Ingle – Man of God, Great Pastor/Teacher, and good friend.  I was able to serve with Bob for almost 7 years.  We saw a lot of things happen in those 7 years.  I was only 24 when FBC Warrensburg took the risk to higher me as their full time Student Pastor.  Every Sunday was a great Sunday.  Bob is probably one of the best communicators I have ever listened to.  He is able to take some of the most difficult teachings, throw some humor in there and walla, you leave convicted yet inspired.  I learned a ton about leadership from watching him lead not only the church but his family.
  • George Feiser – Is the founding and Senior pastor of Grace Community Church where I currently serve.  I am still getting to know George.  I like his heart and vision for Grace and The Church.  He cares about people and wants to see them become all that God has created them to become.
  • Pastor’s by Podcast – Because I am teaching Teens the same time we have Church for adults it has caused me to enter the realm of Podcast’s to listen to other great pastors.  Currently I am listening to these guys on a regular basis Steven Furtick, Perry Noble, Ed Young Jr, Erwin McManus, and Matt Chandler.  It is still knew but I am loving it.  These guys are all passionate about seeing God be lifted up and others changed from the inside out by the Gospel.

This turned out to be a longer list than I thought it would be, but God has used, and is using, these guys to shape me, encourage me, inspire me, and convict me to become the Man of God I was created to be.  For that I am always thankful.  Thank you to each one for you passion for God, your dedication, your time and effort, and your willingness to share the truth in love even when it is hard.

  1. Holly
    October 21, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Dan, you are right, this is pastor appriciation month and I want to thank you for all you have done in my life and you continue to do without knowing. You are a leader and someone I look to for advice! Those boys of yours truly do have a family to be thankful for! Keep up the work with God and as you always say…. Keep Running…..
    We miss you at FBC!
    Holly Churchwell

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

