Home > Bible Challenge > Mark 12:28-37

Mark 12:28-37

October 14, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Jesus replied, ‘The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. 30 And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’[a] 31 The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] No other commandment is greater than these.‘” v. 29-31

What does it look like to love God with ALL of your heart, ALL of your soul, and ALL of your strength?  This is a strong statement that Jesus is making.  It easy for me to love God, or is it?  That word ALL means with every aspect of my life. Ouch! I fall short in several areas.

I will never be more like Jesus than when I evaluate the details of my life to align them with what He says here in these three verses.  This is a heart piece.  Jesus doesn’t want us to change our actions, He wants to change our heart.  When we allow HIm to change us from the inside out, we will be in the process of becoming more like Him and have a desire to do more things out of love for the Father.

Jesus, I want this, my soul longs for this, help me to love you in all the areas of my life, help me to love others the way I love myself, help me to not just change habits or to do more things that are spiritual, but to allow you to change my heart so that it impacts my life and habits everyday.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

