Home > Family, Leadership, Prayer > Our Early Time

Our Early Time

This morning as we were getting ready Josiah said something that really caught me off guard but encouraged me also.  As he was in the shower he said, “Dad, we haven’t had our early time yet.”  I had to ask him what our early time was and this is what he said.  You know that time you get up early to talk with God.  WOW!

A couple of weeks ago Josiah got up a little after I had and came out in the living room to ask what I was doing.  I told him that I get up early to read my Bible and talk with God.  I had no idea that it totally registered with him, but after today I understand that it has.

Here is the lesson for me . . . He is watching everything that I do!  I know I have a lot of bad traits and habits that unfortunately Josiah and Jackson will probably pick up.  However, what I model for them is impacting them in real ways.  Nothing humbles me and yet excites me more than what Josiah shared with me today.  It almost like I was being held accountable by a 4 year old.  But he is watching, and as he grows, he will remember that his dad would get up early to spend time with God, and hopefully he will do the same thing because I modeled that for him.

This song captures what I am feeling right now!

  1. October 8, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Wow! That’s really cool, and something important to think about as parents!

  2. Jennifer Dugan
    October 8, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    that’s awesome dan:) he’s very blessed to have you as his dad:)

  3. October 8, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Very cool. One of the speakers at the MOPS convention talked about this. How our kids learn from watching us. We may think we aren’t teaching them all that we should at times because we think they are too young, but they might already know it just from our actions! Just like Josiah:-)

    They are little sponges soaking it ALL up.

  4. Rick Caskey
    October 8, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    It really brings it home that they are watching everything, very closely. Always remember that. Thanks for sharing that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

