Home > Family, Sports > Soccer 101 – We are getting better!

Soccer 101 – We are getting better!

September 23, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Last Night was Josiah’s third soccer game, one in which he played three quarters.  He is really becoming pretty good when he stays focused on the game and not playing super heroes with his friend Brandon.  But at 4 years old, what can you expect?  However, I am learning a ton through this process.  I am learning a lot about myself, Josiah, other parents, other kids, and about a game I don’t know much about.

As a kid, we played soccer at recess but that was it.  In Jr. High and High School it wasn’t even an option.  Times have changed and I don’t have to drive very far to see kids of all ages playing soccer.  This year is Josiah’s first year to play.  We have been working on dribbling the ball, kicking without falling down, and stealing the ball, (this is the simplest since I just tell him to try to get it from me, he thinks its a game).  These things seem to be working because he is getting better.  Words can’t explain how much fun it is for me to watch him have fun on the field. In fact, on Saturday, Stephanie and I even talked about possibly coaching Josiah’s soccer team next year. (scary I know)  Not that we are any better than the Coach that Josiah has this year, but hopefully the learning curve is not to big.  After all, I have a good resource with teenagers who could help us coach and make up for our lack of knowledge!  Could be an adventure!

  1. Jaime Froberg
    September 23, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    That is so exciting for you guys!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

