Home > Student Ministry > Mexico Day 5 – Adult Perspectives

Mexico Day 5 – Adult Perspectives

Our adults are soooooo awesome.  Here are some of the things they wanted to share about the trip:

WOW, what a week it has been so far. This has been my first mission trip with this group from Fusion, and I have been so fortunate to have gotten the chance to get to know each and every one of the youth so far. What an amazing group. Each time I see them interact with the children in Acuna, I get so emotional and overjoyed because I am so proud of them. They are so good with them and how they interact with them, how they play with them, give them so many hugs, and even though they may not speak their language, they are able to communicate so well with them all. When the worship team sings, every single person in that place just lights up. It is absolutely awesome. I know that there was more than just one reason that God spoke to me and wanted for me to come this week.  It was just not to experience this with my daughter, and not just to be able to help with the use of my Spanish, but to be able to work with teens and to get to know them and appreciate their uniqueness.  This is a trip that I will treasure for the rest of my life. Thank you to all the parents for sharing your children and entrusting them to us. God has definitely used them all and I know they are changed forever. God Bless them all! — Maria Yarrow

This week has been in a word…incredible.  I could write a ton about how I am impressed with our youth, but I don’t want to write a novel.  They seem to have a good grasp on what is going on down here.   I feel like they realize how blessed they really are.  We went on a tour of the poorest areas of Acuna.  It was worse than I imagined.  We got to actually go into one of the houses where it was over 100 degrees…or at least it seemed.  Just seeing the conditions was a huge reality check.  It puts things into perspective for everyone, including myself.

I have also enjoyed working with the leaders…yes, even Andy.  I even thought that before I knew he prayed for salvation for 18 children yesterday.  Awesome.  I have also been able to experience this with my wife Shawna and my son Justin.  Justin is great with the kids…and since he has 3 younger siblings he better be.  Seriously, he is fitting in great.  Soccer breaks down barriers.  Mostly though, I am so proud of Shawna.  She is so great and I love her so much.  I have trouble expressing how much this whole trip means to me.  –Shane Wheeler

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

