Home > Student Ministry > Mexico Day 2 – Adult Leader Perspectives

Mexico Day 2 – Adult Leader Perspectives

Since the leaders didn’t want to be outdone by Teenagers, here are some of the things they wanted to share:

It was so awesome to see the teens getting out there with no fear to invite the kids to VBS.  We went door to door and even those who couldn’t speak any Spanish gave hugs and tried their best to communicate God’s love. The kids were Soooooo excited just to get out there and start making a difference in these people’s lives.  They were really touched by how content they were even though they didn’t have a lot of material possessions.  My husband, Shane, shared his testimony today and it was really touching seeing him up there even though he was very nervous.  I can’t wait to see what God has planned for us tomorrow! –Shawna Wheeler

What an awesome first day! I was so proud not to only see the kids step outside their comfort zone by handing out flyers to people in the neighborhood, but to actually see my own daughter, Alyssa, do it, was something that I will treasure for the rest of my life. I know that it is not easy to go to another country and to do something that you know that God wants you to do, and to do it with excitement, but at the same time, fear. This is truly an experience that I am so excited to share with the fusion group and cannot wait to see what God has in store for me. –Maria Yarrow

I can’t add too much to what has been said by the previous folks.   I will say that I was put on the spot today and I had to give my testimony today…in Spanish.  Until today, I had never given my testimony in English, let alone in my second language.  I hadn’t been that nervous in quite a while.  In fact, I am not totally sure what I said.  I looked out into the small congregation and all eyes were fixed on me…a “gringo” who happened to know Spanish.  I just spoke from my heart and hopefully it came out right.  It felt good to do that.  I definitely was pushed out of my “comfort zone”. –Shane Wheeler

God is moving in our group, may He continue to grow and stretch us as we share His love with the kids and families tomorrow!

Categories: Student Ministry Tags:
  1. summerswitch
    July 20, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Dan!

    I’ll be praying for you and your group while in Mexico…dont drink the water for crying out loud. Sounds like God is moving already but i have a feeling the best is yet to come. Exciting to see God using you to lead students to impact the world-this is truly what its all about. Sounds like Andy is still a dork (you can tell him that) Thanks for leading students and volunteers wish i was there with ya!
    Tyler

  2. Rick Caskey
    July 21, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Dan,

    Sounds like God is really working through y’all. How exciting it must be down there. Pass on to Shane that I said “Go Shane!”. We’re praying for all of you.

    Rick

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

