Home > Bible Challenge > Luke 4:16-30

Luke 4:16-30

“But I tell you the truth, no prophet is accepted in his own hometown.” v. 24

The awesome thing about Jesus is when someone commits their life to him, He can take that mess and make it a masterpiece.  However, sometimes people that know you, don’t necessarily look at the person you are today, they remember the person you used to be.  It’s the old saying, “Your Reputation Precedes You.”  Even Jesus, who was God, was rejected by his home town.  People didn’t believe he could be the Messiah because of his social status.  But Jesus didn’t let that stop him.  He knew what His purpose was and He wasn’t going to let some unbelief keep him from fulfilling it.

I remember when I was 18 and God started moving in my life.  I knew that God was speaking to me and calling me to work specifically with teenagers, but I was scared to death.  One day as I was talking with my Youth Pastor, I don’t know what we were talking about, but I remember the words that he said.  At the time, God was doing so much in my life simply because it was so different than the way I used to be.  But the words were hard to hear.  Another staff person at the church said, “Dan doesn’t have the leadership to be in youth ministry.”  I was at a loss, maybe at the time, i was just wanting to prove him wrong.  However, the enemy has tried to use these words over and over in my head to keep me from fulfilling what God wants to do in my life and sadly, he will do the same to you.  But we can be encouraged by Jesus words when he says, “But I tell you the truth, no prophet is accepted in his own hometown.”

Don’t let other people, who may not understand all that God is doing in you keep you from living and doing what God has called you to do.  Even when you feel beat up, pray and ask God to remind you of your calling, and to give you the strength you need to faithfully do the things that He has called you and prepared you to do.  That’s when He will get all the Glory and you will see Him move in mighty ways in you, and others.

Categories: Bible Challenge
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

