Home > Bible Challenge > Luke 1:2-25

Luke 1:2-25

“Zechariah and Elizabeth were righteous in God’s eyes, careful to obey all of the Lord’s commandments and regulations.” v.6

Wow, God calls Zechariah and Elizabeth righteous.  They didn’t just do the things God instructed them to do through the law, it was apart of them making them who they were.

It is easy to look religious by saying the right things, doing the right stuff, and even praying great prayers.  That is a good description of how I grew up.  I could pray the prayers and say the right things around the right people, and act religious on Sunday at church, but the rest of the week . . . . my lifestyle didn’t match the person I pretended to be on Sunday.  I could DO what I thought were the right things, but I wasn’t BEING the person God wanted me to BE.  God is way more interested in who I am Becoming, not what I Do.  What I do should be a byproduct of Who I am, not the other way around.

Because of their faithfulness, even though they were very old, God blessed them with a son (John the Baptist) and revealed to them first, the coming of Christ.

Who am I trying to impress?  Am I more concerned about pleasing people (looking good on the outside – doing),  or am I more concerned about pleasing God (looking good on the inside – being)?

Categories: Bible Challenge
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

