Home > Bible Challenge > Jonah 2

Jonah 2

“As my life was slipping away, I remembered the Lord. And my earnest prayer went out to you in your holy Temple.” v.7 (NLT)

Have you ever been here? Maybe you haven’t been in the belly of a fish like Jonah, but have you been in a place of uncomfort or disaster? A place that make you fearful of the outcome, or causes you to panic immediately? I know I have. It’s easy to pray and cry out to God in these situations isn’t it? We want him to rescue us and make things better. As a kid I can remember making deals with God. I would pray something like this, “God if you do this ( ) then I promise I will do ( ).” For me, sometimes the only times I prayed were when bad things happened. My youth pastor or mentor called this the “Spare Tire God” The only time you need a spare tire is when one of the other tires is flat. Sadly thats the way we treat their relationship with God. When bad things, or difficult situations come their way, then they cry out to God for help!

Jonah knew he was running from God. In this prayer in chapter 2 he is just thankful to be alive. God has already rescued Him from drowning, but now he is in the belly of a great big fish. It took this situation to get Jonah’s attention. As he prays, he is thankful and repentant.

Today, I want to be person that talks to God on a regular basis. I don’t want to just talk to him when bad things happen. How about you? Is your prayer life more like the spare tire example, or are you consistently talking to God in the good times as well as the difficult times?

Categories: Bible Challenge
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

